Classical music concert at Riga Cathedral


AUGUST 207 pm, Tuesday
Ticket price10 EUR
15 EUR
20 EUR
PlaceRiga Cathedral

Orchestra RIGA

Conductor Jānis Liepiņš

Organ solo – Aigars Reinis

English horn solo – Inese Grāvleja

August traditionally is a time when Orchestra “Riga” invites classical music lovers to enjoy summer concerts at Riga Cathedral. Concertprogramme “Bach, Bruckner, Britten” is going to be rehearsed and performed in a long-awaited collaboration with Janis Liepins, the first kappelmeister at the Nationaltheater Mannheim, Germany.


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750)

Concerto for Oboe D’amore in A Major (BWV 1055) arranged for English horn and wind orchestra

Fantasia and Fugue in G minor (BWV 542) arranged for wind orchestra

Prelude in E-flat major (“St. Anne”, BWV 552/1) – organ solo

Anton Bruckner (1824 – 1896)

Hymn of Praise – arranged for wind orchestra by Philip Gordon

Motets Ave Maria, and Os justi – arranged for symphonic band by Carlo Balameli

Fantasie in G Major – organ solo

Benjamin Britten (1913 – 1976)

Prelude and Fugue on a Theme of Vittoria – arranged for wind orchestra by Jakov Raskin

Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Purcell, Op.34 – organ solo


Riga Cathedral box office, “Biļešu paradīze” box offices and